Bar Cookie Nirvana

After trying many bar cookie recipes and not finding a truly superior one, I resorted to some experimenting. I tried to create PB&J bar cookie earlier in the year. Results: meh. Then there were the Toffee Blondies. Really Good, but not quite Spectacular. Oh, and how could I forget the Hazelnut Bar Cookie Debacle of March 2016? I tried to make up a White Chocolate and Roasted Hazelnut bar cookie recipe and in the process, 1) broke my fave 9×12 pyrex baking pan by accidentally dropping it on the tile floor, 2) burned the Hazelnuts instead of roasting them, so I had to go back to the store to get more hazelnuts, but I shouldn’t have bothered because 3) the Hazelnut bars were AWFUL. I mean AW! FUL!  They tasted like soft concrete . . . but worse.

I refused, however, to give in to Bar Cookie Defeat. I put the Hazelnut Debacle behind me, regained my Bar Cookie Mojo, and decided that instead of making up a recipe, I should go look for a really fabulous one. And you know what? I FOUND ONE!! At long last, I found the BEST BAR COOKIE RECIPE!! It will KNOCK your SOCKS off! So please remove your socks before you taste – or even look at  – these bars, to avoid the dangerous sock flingage that might ensue.

20160612_083453_1465751532457

You owe it to yourself to make these. The recipe is easy and the outcome is WOW!

This fabulous recipe comes from the King Arthur Flour website. I really like this recipe because it has options that can be chosen to suit your personal taste. Here are the options I chose:

  1. Used the vanilla-butter-nut flavor i/o the butterscotch flavor. If you’ve never used vanilla-butter-nut flavor, for pete’s sake put your socks back on and go get some now! It’s AWESOME. It gives a much richer flavor. I used more than the recipe calls for:  ½ t. instead of ¼ t.
  2. Used 2 C milk chocolate chunks and 1 C walnuts. It would be even better with pecans, but I was out of pecans because, um, I ate them all – so I had to use walnuts. (Is there a group for pecan addicts? I really need help.)

Also, I followed the recipe’s advice to take them out of the oven when they still look underbaked, and then to let them cool overnight. That was good advice! I left them in the pan and covered them with foil while they were still a bit warm. They set up really well and have an amazing, chewy texture and a perfect, crusty top.

20160612_083229

So I’m taking them  to Coffee Hour after church, but will be on guard in case socks start flying around the fellowship hall.  🙂

Thank you King Arthur Flour for a fabulous recipe and for bringing to a conclusion my Bar Cookie Recipe Search. Now I can direct my baking energy towards next weekend’s church event: Sunday Summer Brunch. Should I make Orange/Date/Pecan pound cake . . . or. . . Maple-Bacon cookies?  I’m not sure my fellow church-goers are ready for a bacon-inclusive cookie. But perhaps I underestimate them . . .

3 thoughts on “Bar Cookie Nirvana

  1. Those look so good! Your timing is perfect – it’s summer and no one is wearing socks anyway.

Leave a Reply

