Whole Wheat Apple Raisin Bread

Move over, Carrot-Pineapple Bread! Your place in the Breakfast Bread Hall Of Fame has just been usurped by a fabulous breakfast bread from King Arthur Flour:  Whole Wheat Apple Raisin Bread. (Better pic on website.)

apple raisin bread 013

And here’s a pic of the inside of a little muffin I made from the batter so I could have a taste.  Very moist. Quite delicious.

apple raisin bread 008

I found this recipe on the King Arthur Flour website.  Every one of their recipes I have tried has been AMAZING.  This recipe calls for White Whole Wheat flour.  I had never used that before, so I was curious.  It’s really good! It has a milder flavor and is lighter in color than regular whole wheat flour, but it has all the same nutrition as regular whole wheat flour. It’s also not as “heavy” as regular ww flour. I can’t wait to try it in some other things.

The only problem I had with the recipe was that it calls for a regular sized loaf pan, which turned out to be way too small.  The center of the loaf was not done, yet the crust was starting to burn.  But that problem can be easily resolved by using a large loaf pan (9×5″) or by making the regular loaf + 2 mini loaves.

The recipe gives you several options:  I used golden raisins instead of dark ones.  I did use the optional ginger, and I used both the cinnamon sugar and sparkling sugar on the top instead of just one of them.

Since it’s a new recipe for me, I asked my friend Diana to critique the bread’s texture and flavor. She went wild over it and asked me for the recipe.  So this bread will now be at the top of my list for my next baking project, whenever that may occur. Soon, I hope!

This bread freezes really well, so you can make it ahead of time. Try it out! You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

