Apricot Angel Bars

I will begin by saying that THESE ARE AWESOME!

You really should include them in your holiday baking repertoire. They’re a nice alternative to a brownie, and far superior to a regular old blondie.

The recipe is a contest-winning recipe I found on the Taste of Home website.  It looked interesting, but I had no idea it would be so good!

You won’t even need a mixer for this one. You melt butter and white chocolate together, then add the other wet ingredients, and then stir that into the dry ingredients. (I used Ghiradelli white chips instead of white baking chocolate.)   And you mix up chopped dried apricots, sliced almonds, and a little coconut and add half of that to the batter and sprinkle the rest on top.

The combination of flavors is delicious! And the texture is perfect – like a chewy brownie. Oh, and did I mention that they are made with brown sugar?  You can’t go wrong with that.

One note:  I thought I had messed up the recipe, because when I put the batter into the 9″ baking pan, it barely covered the bottom of the pan. But they turned out perfect.  I guess the 2 eggs and all the baking powder really made them rise.

One other note:  I melted the butter and white choc in a double boiler i/o a saucepan.  It took longer, but prevented the white choc from burning and sticking to the bottom of the pan. You could probably do it in the microwave, as long as you stopped to stir every 20 -30 seconds.

Leave a Reply

