Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

Remember that old book by Dale Carnegie called How To Win Friends And Influence People? Well don’t bother reading it.  Just make these, give them to people, and mission accomplished!

I found this recipe in my Taste of Home “Gifts From The Country Kitchen” cookbook, and you can also find the recipe here.

It’s an easy recipe.  Basic cookie ingredients plus 2 blocks of cream cheese.  I didn’t have the mini-chocolate chips on hand, so I used regular-sized chips that I had in the pantry. Also, I didn’t want to use as much shortening as the recipe called for, so I replaced about half of the shortening with unsalted butter. (Don’t replace with salted butter or they’ll be too salty. The recipe already calls for salt.)

I totally forgot to take pictures of the various steps, so I’ll skip right to the end. Voilà!  Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars! They look wierd in the pan, but once you cut them into bars, they look like a tastee, chewy bar cookie.

The edges are really chewy.  If you refrigerated overnight in the pan, they will easy to cut the next day.

I packaged them up and will take them to coffee hour.

But I saved one to give to my choco-holic friend Diana.

I bet right now you’re wishing you were Diana.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

Leave a Reply

