Purple Super Smoothie

This isn’t actually baking, but it does involve food.

I’m still on a Super-Food kick, and I keep seeing recipes for various types of Super-Food smoothies that contain all sorts of things you wouldn’t normally put in a smoothie.  Like spinach.

I couldn’t imagine that it would be good, but I was curious enough to give it a try.  I used what I had on hand (full recipe at end of this post), including, yes – SPINACH.

This pic is a little dark, but the ingredients I used are: Baby spinach, Boston lettuce, cucumber, blueberries, strawberries, Pomegranate juice, Hemp milk, flaxmeal, and Agave nectar.

I put them all in the food processor –  here’s the “before”:

and then processed it for about 30 sec, added some crushed ice and pulsed a few times to blend. Here’s the”after” – a beautiful, dark purple smoothie!

I was expecting a really icky, spinach-y taste, but I have to tell you . . . IT WAS AWESOME!  Had a strong berry flavor. Couldn’t even taste the spinach! I’m guessing that the sweet Boston lettuce “neutralized” the spinach flavor.  I did taste a hint of cucumber, but I LOVE the flavor and fragrance of cucumber, and somehow it worked with the berry flavor.

And this is good for you with all the antioxidants and some omega-3’s.  If it had some protein in it, it would be a meal. But I can’t do soy, so I’m not sure how to add protein and still maintain the flavor.

If you want to make this, here are the quantities/ingredients I used to make one serving:

1/4 C pomegranate juice, 1/4 C hemp milk (any kind of milk will do), 1 T agave nectar (or use honey), 1/2 C packed fresh organic baby spinach, 1/2 C packed Boston lettuce, 4 slices cucumber, 1/4 C organic blueberries, 1/2 C organic strawberries (or use mixed berries), 1 T flaxmeal, crushed ice.

I used organic spinach and berries because the regular kind of each has very high pesticide residue.

This is going to be my new Official Weekend Treat.

One thought on “Purple Super Smoothie

Leave a Reply

