Healthy Baking: Super Food Berry Bars

After recently reading some health & nutrition books, and also looking at super-food recipes, I was inspired to try my hand a making Berry Bars.  They’re like oat-based granola bars, choc-full of super foods, and without refined sugar.

After looking at several different  recipes, I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted so I used the general ideas from those recipes, but made the bars with what I had on hand.

The first ingredients – mostly oats, nuts, seeds, and dried fruits –  looked like a granola cereal. Then I folded in half of a mashed banana to hold it all together. (Full recipe listed at end of this post.)

Last thing was to gently fold in some blueberries and then spread the mixture into a pan.  I used a 9 x 5 loaf pan, which was a little too large.  Should have gone with an 8 x 4 loaf pan.  I lined the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and then lightly oiled the side of the pan. Keeps the blueberries from sticking to the pan, because we don’t want to waste good blueberries!

While they were baking, they smelled terrific!  After they came out of the oven, I was a bit hasty in trying to cut them. They were still too soft.

So I sped up the cooling process by putting them into the fridge for about 45 minutes. Then I was able to cut them.

And YUM were these good! Not as hard and crunchy as a store-bought granola bar, but I liked the slightly chewy texture.  The next time I crave carbs, this is what I’m having.

Here’s how I made them: 

1/2 C old-fashioned oats, 1/2 ripe banana, sprinkle of cinnamon, 1/2 C frozen organic blueberries (thawed,rinsed, patted dry), 1 T pomegranate juice, 1 T orange juice, 2 T chopped pecans, 2 T chopped dates,  1 T raisins, 1 T flax meal, 1 T hemp seeds, 1 T sunflower seeds, 2 T goji berries.  Mix all together, spread in lightly oiled loaf pan, bake at 350 for 25-27 min. Let cool and enjoy!  Store extra bars in fridge.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Baking: Super Food Berry Bars

Leave a Reply

