Coconut Mug Cake

About 2 months ago, the 5-minute Chocolate Mug Cake recipe made the rounds again in blog world.  So I was thinking, “What about people who are allergic to chocolate?  Are they excluded from Mug Cake Enjoyment?”

Apparently so.

I needed to put an end to that. So I tried making a White Chocolate Mug Cake by substituting Ghiradelli white baking chocolate  for  regular chocolate, and I added a little vanilla extract.  The result wasn’t good.  It tasted very “eggy” and I’m sorry, but half a stick of butter in a one-serving dessert is just too much for anyone’s arteries.

SO . . .I decided to try making a Coconut Mug Cake instead.  Yummy!

I stirred together some things that I had on hand:  1T butter (melted), 2 T sour cream, 2 egg whites, 3 T Cream of Coconut (I used Coco Lopez brand), 1/4 T vanilla, 1/4 T coconut extract, 4 T flour, and 3 T sugar.

After pouring the batter into a microwave-safe coffee cup, I microwaved it on medium power for  2  minutes and then on high power for 1  minute. While it was microwaving and then cooling,  I made a little glaze :  2 t. half-n-half, approx 6 t. powdered sugar –  heat until boiling in microwave.  Then stir in a drop of vanilla and 1/8 t coconut extract.  (You may need more or less powdered sugar to get the consistency you want.)

I poked a few holes in the top of the cake with a toothpick, and then drizzled the warm glaze on top of the hot cake.  Of course, a coconut cake needs coconut, so I sprinkled some sweetened shredded coconut over the top.  Here’s what I got:

A lovely & Tastee little Coconut Mug Cake!

If you’ve never had mug cake before, the texture isn’t like regular cake.  It’s very dense and delicious.  And it takes only a couple of minutes to make!  A nice little decadent snack for a rainy night . . . or any other night, for that matter!

Now I’m getting an idea for a Praline Mug Cake. . .Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Coconut Mug Cake

Leave a Reply

