Caramel of My Dreams

I love really good caramel.  But, alas! It’s hard to find.  I’ve tried several recipes, and today I may have found my One True Caramel Love.  I started with this recipe I found on Epicurious but I made a few changes.  Instead of using 1&1/2 cup of white sugar, I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar.  Because how can you make good caramel without brown sugar!?!?!  Um, you can’t.  Also, I added 1/2 tsp vanilla at the end.

Not a lot of ingredients.  Mostly stuff that you have on hand, except maybe  the Fleur de Sel:

Then you prepare the cream/butter/salt mixture in one pan, and the other ingredients in another:

Then you combine them into one pan and boil while stirring for about 17 minutes, until it reaches 248 degrees.  As the water cooks off, the mixture gets darker and thicker.  During this period, you’ll want to pop in a DVD or something to entertain yourself because the stirring gets old really fast!

Then when it reaches 248 degrees (or 242 degress if you want a softer caramel), you remove it from the heat, stir in half a teaspoon of vanilla, and pour it into an 8×8 pan lined with buttered parchment paper. After it cools  you can wrap the pieces in little squares of parchment or waxed paper.

Oh, who am I kidding??!  I’m going to eat them, so why wrap them?

Now I will say that, once cooled, this caramel is VERY chewy. Not a super-soft caramel, but I like it that way! It lets you really savor the amazing rich flavor for longer. Mmmm!

5 thoughts on “Caramel of My Dreams

  1. Oh yum! My first attempt at those was a Ina Garten recipe and it failed into a fleur de sel caramel sauce, which was still great but I need to try to make the candy again.

Leave a Reply

