Making Leetle Dresses

Instead of baking, I’ve been spending my time sewing little dresses.

It’s a totally new experience for me because I’ve never made apparel before, and can barely sew a straight line anyway.

Here’s how it all happened: My friend Diana invited me to visit her church, so I checked out the church’s website in advance.  I saw some pictures of a sewing group, but wasn’t sure exactly what they were making.  Diana told me that it’s a group called Sewing For Hope that meets at her church, and makes dresses for AIDS orphans in Tanzania. Then I found a news video clip about the group, and OHMIGOSH I had to find out about more it!  So I emailed the lady in charge.  She was very welcoming, and even came to my house to bring me the patterns and instructions.  Very Nice Lady!

Here’s the cotton fabric I bought at JoAnn for My First Dress:

little dresses 005

I wanted to try to make a dress before the group’s meeting during the week. So last weekend, I shut myself in my sewing room with the fabric and instructions.  After many hours of trying (and in many cases, failing) to understand the instructions . . .  and then I won’t even mention how many times I had to get out the seam ripper! . . . I finally managed to produce a little dress!

little dresses 006

Now that I finally figured out the instructions, it’s really simple. Has facing in the front and back of the top part. Since we have to make them as durable as possible, we can’t use too many bells and whistles like buttons or sparkly things.  I thought the grosgrain ribbon would add to the appearance but wouldn’t come off easily.

Now I’m making a blue  one – it’s going waaaaaay faster this time around!  It’s actually the same print, but with a blue background and a yellow center in the daisy.

We can also use geometric prints and batiks. I suspect that I’ll go ape with the batiks and will have to take special care not to succumb to the fabric addiction that runs in my family. ;)

This is a really fun project and I’m so glad to have found it!

But I must temporarily stop the dress-making next week, because there is some baking to be done. I will be baking Peanut Butter and Jam Cookies.  mmm. Raspberry jammy bits in the cookies. If you want to know what jammy bits are, tune in next week to find out!

One Response to “Making Leetle Dresses”

  1. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    That is such a cute little dress! Let me know if I can help you with that fabric addiction.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

