It’s Cookie Time!

But then isn’t it always time for a cookie? :)

So today I made a recipe that I haven’t made in ages.  Salty-Sweet Butter Pecan Cookies.  Found the recipe on the King Arthur Flour website.  They have really nice quality recipes - have a look, maybe while the baby eagles are napping.

I was especially excited to make cookies, because it was a great opportunity to try out my new cooling racks that I puchased from Bed Bath & Beyond with a gift card that my sister gave me for Christmas.  (Also got some towels, needless to say.)  Thank you, Sister!

SSBPecan cookies 002

These racks are great because 1)they have legs and stand up off the counter so the cookies cool faster, and 2)they’re stackable, so you don’t need as much counter space. The set comes with 3 tiers, but only one is shown in the pic above.

So back to the cookies – it’s a pretty easy recipe. It calls for both butter and shortening, but I used all butter and no shortening. Cuz who wants to eat shortening? blech.  I used a small cookie scoop to scoop the dough, then rolled it into balls and then rolled the balls in a mixture of sugar and a little salt.  Since the cookies have butterscotch chips and brown sugar in them, they are really sweet, so the touch of salt perfectly counters all the sweetness. It’s kind of the same effect as a little salt on caramel.  YUM.

SSBPecan cookies 003

I did not refridgerate the dough, so the cookies came out flatter, and since I baked them for only 10 minutes, they were nice and chewy. If you want a chunkier cookie, you can refrigerate the dough before rolling into balls, and for a crisper cookie, you can bake them an additional 2 minutes.  They looked a little boring so after I took this pic, I sprinkled the top with some of the sugar/salt mixture.

SSBPecan cookies 004

And look – here they are on my new cooling racks!  At this point, it’s just a double-decker, but there is another tier that can be stacked on top.

SSBPecan cookies 005

You know what else I like about these cooling racks?  Since they’re not so low to the counter, you don’t get that condensation on the countertop as the cookies cool. Genius!

So after they cooled – in no time flat, thanks to the nifty new racks – I packaged them up and will take them to my dentist’s office today. Have to have a crown repaired.

SSBPecan cookies 006

Okay, so I’m back from the dentist.  The cookies were a big hit! But half of my face is numb and I feel like I have a big fat lip. So I’ll go settle down on the sofa and watch the financial news and then switch over to Bonanza. Might be a nap in there somewhere.

2 Responses to “It’s Cookie Time!”

  1. Leah Says:

    These look and sound very tastee. I just checked on the baby eagles – one is resting his little head under the other’s wing. So sweet!

    P&S Cousin Leah

  2. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    oh yummmmmm!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

