My First Black Friday Shopping Experiece

I have never been shopping on Black Friday before, but I HAD to go this year.  Joann’s put their flannel on sale for 75% off, but only on Saturday morning until noon. I was nervous. I ventured out expecting a mob scene, but it really wasn’t that crowded. In fact, I found a parking place right by the door!

I was there to stock up on flannel for making more blankets for Project Linus, and I wanted to pick up some of the new prints that Joann’s had gotten in just before the sale. But even though I arrived at 8:40 a.m., Greedy Flannel Lady arrived just before me and was buying the entire bolt of every single one of the new flannels. Darn it! If I had just gotten there 30 minutes earlier! So, anyway, I just bought more of the cuter prints that I had used before. About 15 yards in total.

And they had the thread on sale half price, so I stocked up on some of that, too.

I still had some flannel left over from the last sale, so now I have quite a stack!

I’m hoping that the store will get more of the new prints and then mark them down for the after-Christmas sale. If they do, I’ll be sure to get up early and beat Greedy Flannel Lady to the punch!

But for now, I have to sew up most of what I have so that I will not fall prey to  The Dreaded Fabric Hoarding Disease that apparently runs in my family. ;)

In other sewing news, I made some little house ornaments out of fabric scraps. My sister sent me the two red fabrics. So cute! The pattern came from a sewing calendar that Cousin Audra gave me for Christmas a few years ago.

Fun people live in these houses, don’t you think? Especially the big orange one. But the pink and green striped one is my favorite. Probably because it looks like candy.

Now I’ve got to gear up for some major baking for a church event on December 8th.  So far, it looks like I”ll be baking 6 or 7 different things. I can’t wait!

2 Responses to “My First Black Friday Shopping Experiece”

  1. AudraG Says:

    So disappointing on your flannel! E would have fairies living in your cute houses.

  2. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    Aww baby’s first Black Friday. Oh wait, I forgot- you are a BIG GIRL!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

